Find a nursing home

Home / Oklahoma / Haskell

Haskell Care Center

405 North Choctaw, Haskell, OK 74436 · Muskogee County · (918) 482-3310

58 certified beds, about 35 residents a day · For profit - Limited Liability company · Medicare and Medicaid since 2002

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
2 of 5
Health inspections
3 of 5
Staffing
1 of 5
CMS note: The accuracy of the staffing data for this measure could not be validated by CMS.
Quality measures
4 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 375414 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on September 27, 2024, inspectors cited 7 health deficiencies (the Oklahoma average is 6.4, the national average 9.2).

Of 26 health citations since April 2022, 1 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy to residents.

CMS lists 1 fine totaling $3,422 in the last three years; the largest was $3,422, and the latest is dated November 21, 2023.

29.0% of nursing staff left within the year CMS measured (Oklahoma average 55.5%).

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 26 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
1G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
12D
12E
1F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
September 27, 2024Standard inspection, Complaint inspection · 9 citations
  1. F
    Post nurse staffing information every day.
    F732 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 28, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation and interview, the facility failed to ensure posted staffing information contained projected and actual staffing hours worked. The administrator identified 35 residents who resided in the facility.
  2. E
    Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
    F609 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 28, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to report an allegation of abuse for one (#10) of two sampled residents reviewed for abuse. The administrator identified seven allegations of abuse within the last six months.
  3. D
    Encode each resident’s assessment data and transmit these data to the State within 7 days of assessment.
    F640 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 28, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure discharge and entry resident assessments were completed for one (#7) of six sampled residents whose resident assessments were reviewed. The administrator identified 35 residents who resided in the facility.
  4. D
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    F641 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 28, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure a resident assessment was accurate for one (#7) of six sampled residents whose resident assessments were reviewed. The administrator identified 35 residents who resided in the facility.
  5. D
    Coordinate assessments with the pre-admission screening and resident review program; and referring for services as needed.
    F644 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 28, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to: a. ensure a level II PASARR was care planned for one (#7); and b. make a referral to the OHCA after a new serious mental illness diagnosis for one (#9) of two sampled residents whose PASARRs were reviewed. The administrator identified 35 residents who resided in the facility.
  6. D
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 28, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure a resident was competent to self administer medication and report medication errors to the physician for one (#7) of six sampled residents whose medications were reviewed. The administrator identified 35 residents who resided in the facility.
  7. D
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    F695 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 28, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to ensure oxygen tubing and humidifier bottles were changed and labeled monthly for one (#5) of two sampled residents whose oxygen tubing/humidifier bottles were observed. The administrator identified 35 residents who resided in the facility
  8. E
    Develop and implement policies and procedures to prevent abuse, neglect, and theft.
    F607 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 28, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to implement their abuse policy for one (#10) of twelve sampled residents reviewed for abuse and one (CNA#1) of five sampled employees whose background checks were reviewed. The administrator identified 35 residents who resided in the facility.
  9. E
    Respond appropriately to all alleged violations.
    F610 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 28, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to thoroughly investigate an allegation of abuse for one (#10) of two sampled residents reviewed for abuse. The administrator identified seven allegations of abuse within the last six months.
November 21, 2023Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. G
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · Actual harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) November 29, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to provide adequate supervision and assistance to help prevent falls for two (#1 and #5) of three residents reviewed for falls. Res #1 had four falls in two months, they suffered a hematoma to back of head and abrasion to elbow with one fall and had a fracture to their orbital facial bones on the last fall. The facility failed to: a) Implement interventions and/or appropriate interventions to prevent falls for the residents after each fall occurrence. b) Monitor and/or update the residents' plan of care for appropriate fall interventions. c) Ensure staff were aware of additional care needs for the residents. The administrator identified 16 residents had fallen in the last six months.
August 10, 2023Standard inspection · 4 citations
  1. E
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 20, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to develop a wound care plan for one (#24) resident of three residents reviewed for pressure ulcers.
  2. E
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    F657 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 20, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to ensure residents' care plans were reviewed and revised for two (#18 and #25) of 12 residents whose care plans were reviewed. The facility failed to update the residents' care plans: a. with new interventions in response to psychotropic drugs for resident #18, and b. with new interventions in response to weight loss for resident #25. The Resident Census and Conditions of Residents documented 34 residents resided in the facility.
  3. D
    Post nurse staffing information every day.
    F732 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 20, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation and interview, the facility failed to ensure daily staffing information containing all of the required components was posted and retained for the required amount of time.
  4. D
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 20, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation and interview, the facility failed to provide a hand washing sink in the kitchen with soap and water separate from the sink used for food preparation. The Resident Census and Conditions of Residents, dated 08/07/23, documented 34 residents resided in the facility. On 08/07/23 at 9:28 a.m., an initial tour of the kitchen was conducted. The following observations were made: a. a sink utilized for hand hygiene was in a separate room with pots and pans laying in and around the sink, b. an OUT OF ORDER sign was hanging above the sink, c. no soap was available to wash hands before food preparations, and d. no paper towels were available to dry hands before food preparations. On 08/07/23 at 9:28 a.m., [NAME] #1 stated they used the same sink to wash their hands as they used to prepare food for the residents. [...]
April 14, 2022Standard inspection · 12 citations
  1. E
    Coordinate assessments with the pre-admission screening and resident review program; and referring for services as needed.
    F644 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 26, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to reevaluate for preadmission screening and resident review (PASRR) level 1 after a change in diagnosis for two (#10 and #32) of four residents reviewed for PASRR services. The Census and Conditions of Residents form documented 40 residents lived in the facility.
  2. E
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 26, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, observation, and interviews, the facility failed to ensure an open wound and edema were assessed for one (#89) of three sampled residents reviewed for skin issues. The ''Resident Census and Conditions of Residents'' report documented 40 residents resided at he facility.
  3. E
    Provide appropriate care for a resident to maintain and/or improve range of motion (ROM), limited ROM and/or mobility, unless a decline is for a medical reason.
    F688 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 26, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to provide restorative services to help prevent further decline in range of motion for two (#22 and #25) of two residents sampled for limited range of motion. The ''Resident Census and Conditions of Residents'' report documented three residents with contractures.
  4. E
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 26, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to: a. Evaluate the resident for the risk of falls. b. Determine the root causes of falls. c. Ensure interventions were relevant and implemented consistently. d. Implement new interventions to reduce risks, and e. Evaluate the effectiveness of interventions for one (#28) of three sampled residents reviewed for accident hazards The ''Resident Census and Conditions of Residents report documented 40 residents resided in the facility.
  5. E
    Try different approaches before using a bed rail. If a bed rail is needed, the facility must (1) assess a resident for safety risk; (2) review these risks and benefits with the resident/representative; (3) get informed consent; and (4) Correctly install and maintain the bed rail.
    F700 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 26, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to assess the need and risk of using bed rails for two (#17 and #90) of two sampled residents reviewed for bed rail usage. The Census and Conditions of Residents form documented 40 residents lived in the facility.
  6. E
    Ensure each resident’s drug regimen must be free from unnecessary drugs.
    F757 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 26, 2022
    Inspectors wrote3. Res #2 had a physician order, dated 04/01/20, which documented to administer carvedilol 12.5 mg twice a day for chronic systolic heart failure. A physician order, dated 12/08/20, documented to monitor and document blood pressure twice daily. The order documented the therapeutic range was more than 90/60 and less than 160/90. The order documented to notify the physician if out of range. As of 04/13/22, the April 2022 MAR, documented two blood pressures for the month. No other blood pressure documentation was provided. Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure residents' drug regimen was free from unnecessary medication for four (#2, 7, 26, and #32) of five sampled residents who were reviewed for unnecessary medication. [...]
  7. E
    Provide timely, quality laboratory services/tests to meet the needs of residents.
    F770 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 26, 2022
    Inspectors wrote3. Resident #2 had diagnoses which included diabetes mellitus, hyperlipidemia, congestive heart failure, and cerebral infarction. A physician order, dated 08/05/20, documented to obtain a CBC and CMP lab test every six months in August and February. A physician order, dated 08/05/20, documented to obtain a HgA1c lab test every three months in August, November, February, and May. On 04/14/22 at 12:11 p.m., the corporate nurse stated she could not find where the facility obtained the CBC, CMP, and HgA1c in February as ordered. Based on record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to ensure physician ordered lab services were obtained for four (#2, 7, 26, and #32) of five residents sampled reviewed for unnecessary medications. The Census and Conditions of Residents form documented 40 residents lived in the facility.
  8. D
    Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
    F609 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 26, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure an allegation of abuse was reported to OSDH within two hours after the allegation was made for one (#89) of two residents sampled for abuse. The ''Resident Census and Conditions of Residents report documented 40 residents resided at the facility.
  9. D
    Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
    F686 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 26, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, observation, and interviews, the facility failed to conduct pressure ulcer assessments at least weekly for one (#89) of three sampled residents reviewed for pressure ulcers. The ''Resident Census and Conditions of Residents'' report documented two residents had pressure ulcers.
  10. D
    Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
    F756 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 26, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure the physician responded to a pharmacy recommendation for one (#32) of five sampled residents whose medications where reviewed. The Census and Conditions of Residents form documented 40 residents lived in the facility.
  11. D
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    F758 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 26, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure residents were free from unnecessary psychotropic medications for one (#7) of five residents reviewed for unnecessary medications. The Census and Conditions of Residents form documented 31 residents received psychotropic medications.
  12. D
    Make sure that a working call system is available in each resident's bathroom and bathing area.
    F919 · Environmental · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 26, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, observation, and interview the facility failed to have an adequate call system in place for one (#32) of 16 residents who were reviewed for adequate call system. The Census and Conditions of Residents form documented 40 residents lived in the facility.

Fire safety inspections

4 fire safety citations on file: 1 on September 27, 2024, 2 on August 10, 2023, 1 on April 14, 2022.

Every fire safety citation4 citations
  1. F
    Ensure that corridors are separated from use areas by walls constructed to limit the passage of smoke.
    K 362 · September 27, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. F
    Have properly located and lighted "Exit" signs.
    K 293 · August 10, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. E
    Ensure heating and ventilation systems that have been properly installed according to the manufacturer's instructions.
    K 521 · August 10, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. F
    Properly provide smoke detection systems in areas open to corridors.
    K 347 · April 14, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

DatePenaltyAmount or length
November 21, 2023Fine $3,422

A payment denial means Medicare and Medicaid stopped paying for new admissions for that period.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeOklahomaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)not reported3.793.86
Registered nursesnot reported0.340.69
All nursing staff on weekendsnot reported3.443.42
Nurse aidesnot reported
Licensed practical nursesnot reported
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)29.0%55.5%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported53.6%42.9%
Administrators who left0

CMS note on this home's staffing data: The accuracy of the staffing data for this measure could not be validated by CMS.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 3.84 on weekdays and 3.48 on weekends, 9% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 3.78 in April to June 2025 to 3.74 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.740.333.843.48 0.0%0 of 9035
Oct to Dec 20253.450.313.642.97 0.0%0 of 9235
Jul to Sep 20253.890.353.893.91 0.0%0 of 9234
Apr to Jun 20253.780.323.833.67 0.0%0 of 9135
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Oklahoma, Jan to Mar 20263.790.323.943.422.2%1.6% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeOklahomaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.313.613.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.51.90.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.72.81.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.04.73.2
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.013.714.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.84.74.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
19.817.515.4

Owners and operators

Legal business name: HASKELL CARE CENTER LLC.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Humphreys, Douglas5% or greater direct ownership interestIndividual5%12/01/2000
Brannon, LindaOperational/managerial controlIndividual12/01/2018
Brannon, LindaAdp of the SNFIndividual03/10/2025

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 8 problems in this area, most recently on September 27, 2024: "Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals."
  2. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 6 problems in this area, most recently on September 27, 2024: "Encode each resident’s assessment data and transmit these data to the State within 7 days of assessment."
  3. How are allegations of abuse or neglect reported and investigated, and who tells the family?Inspectors cited 4 problems in this area, most recently on September 27, 2024: "Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities."
  4. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on April 14, 2022: "Ensure each resident’s drug regimen must be free from unnecessary drugs."

Other nursing homes nearby

Oklahoma contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Oklahoma. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Haskell Care Center's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Haskell Care Center 2 out of 5 stars overall, with 3 for health inspections, 1 for staffing and 4 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Haskell Care Center get at its last inspection?
7 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on September 27, 2024. The Oklahoma average is 6.4.
Has Haskell Care Center been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 1 fine totaling $3,422 in the last three years.
Does Haskell Care Center accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Haskell Care Center?
CMS lists 3 owners and managers. Legal business name: HASKELL CARE CENTER LLC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection