Find a nursing home

Home / Florida / Jacksonville

River City Nursing and Rehab Center

15480 Max Leggett Parkway, Jacksonville, FL 32218 · Duval County · (904) 321-1909

116 certified beds, about 105 residents a day · For profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 2020

CMS high performing icon Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
3 of 5
Quality measures
5 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 106142 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on February 26, 2026, inspectors cited 2 health deficiencies (the Florida average is 7.1, the national average 9.2).

None of its 10 health citations since April 2022 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 3.96 hours per resident per day, against 3.82 across Florida and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.98 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 10 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
8D
1E
1F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
February 26, 2026Standard inspection · 2 citations
  1. F
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 26, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on kitchen food service observations, staff interviews, facility document review, and facility policy and procedure review, the facility failed to follow proper sanitation and food handling practices to prevent the outbreak of foodborne illness, with the potential to affect all residents who consumed foods from the facility, by failing to label and date mark an open beverage found in the 400 hallways nourishment room. Additionally observed were open bundles of bread in the cook area storage bin. Food handling and sanitation are important in health care settings serving nursing home residents. Unsafe food handling practices represent a potential source of pathogen exposure.
  2. D
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 26, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, record reviews and interviews, the facility failed to implement interventions identified in the comprehensive care plan for two (Residents #31 and #3) of 32 residents in the total survey sample. Resident #31 had no floor mat at bedside as per the physician's order and her care plan. Resident #3 had no pillow supporting her left elbow as per the physician's order and her care plan. Failing to follow these residents' care plans could result in falls with injuries, worsening of pressure areas, increased pain, and overall functional decline.
April 25, 2024Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. D
    Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
    F550 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 24, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations and record review, the facility failed to ensure dignity while dining for two (Residents #94 and 54) of two residents reviewed for dignity.
  2. D
    Provide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health.
    F692 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 24, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, interviews, and record review, the facility failed to ensure residents maintained acceptable parameters of nutritional status, such as body weight, by failing to provide nutritional interventions in a timely manner for two (Residents #54 and #94) of two residents reviewed for nutritional status, resulting in significant weight loss.
  3. D
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 24, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure that all drugs and biologicals were stored in locked compartments with access granted only to authorized personnel for one (Resident #45) of one resident reviewed for medication storage.
April 14, 2022Standard inspection · 5 citations
  1. E
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 16, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, staff interview, and facility policy review, the facility failed to ensure safe and secure storage (including limited access and mechanisms to minimize loss or diversion) of all medications, with the potential of affecting all residents, related to staff not ensuring one (St. [NAME] nursing unit (rooms 300/400) of two treatment carts containing medications was locked when not in use and unattended.
  2. D
    Allow resident to participate in the development and implementation of his or her person-centered plan of care.
    F553 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 25, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on interviews and record review, the facility failed to ensure that each resident had the right to participate in the development and implementation of his or her person-centered plan of care for one (Resident #23) of 42 residents sampled.
  3. D
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 25, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, staff and resident interviews, medical record review, and facility policy review, the facility failed to ensure the resident environment remained as free of accident hazards as was possible for one (Resident #86) of a sample of 42 residents.
  4. D
    Provide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections.
    F690 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 16, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, interviews and record review, the facility failed to ensure that one (Resident #251) of three residents with an indwelling catheter, from a total of 42 sampled residents, received appropriate care and services to prevent urinary tract infections (UTI).
  5. D
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    F695 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 18, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, interviews, and record reviews, the facility failed to ensure that two (Resident #72 and Resident #43) of 16 residents receiving respiratory care, for a total sample of 42 residents, received oxygen as ordered.

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeFloridaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)3.963.823.86
Registered nurses0.980.730.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.503.493.42
Nurse aides2.28
Licensed practical nurses0.70
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported41.4%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported46.0%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.75 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 4.14 on weekdays and 3.50 on weekends, 15% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 3.72 in April to June 2025 to 3.96 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.960.984.143.50 0.0%0 of 90105
Oct to Dec 20253.830.883.993.43 0.0%0 of 92109
Jul to Sep 20253.850.894.033.41 0.0%0 of 92110
Apr to Jun 20253.720.913.903.27 0.0%0 of 91107
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Florida, Jan to Mar 20263.760.703.903.441.1%0.2% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeFloridaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
10.08.713.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.80.30.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.40.71.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
5.42.53.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.01.51.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
12.19.514.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.74.54.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.58.615.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
22.426.123.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
8.69.112.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
3.02.11.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
0.81.11.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: FIRST COAST HEALTH VENTURES, LLC.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Hill, Jeffrey5% or greater direct ownership interestIndividual06/17/2020
Kim, Keith5% or greater direct ownership interestIndividual15%07/22/2015
Sell, Jerrie5% or greater direct ownership interestIndividual15%07/22/2015
Wilson, John5% or greater direct ownership interestIndividual9%07/22/2015
First Coast Health Managers, LLCDirect ownership interestOrganization06/17/2020
Foodonics International, Inc.Direct ownership interestOrganization06/17/2020
Gandt Ventures, LLCDirect ownership interestOrganization06/17/2020
M.j.i. Logistics, LLCDirect ownership interestOrganization06/17/2020
Meeraj 1, LLCDirect ownership interestOrganization06/17/2020
Sharpe Estates, Inc.Direct ownership interestOrganization06/17/2020
Sharpe Family Investments, LtdDirect ownership interestOrganization06/17/2020
The Tm Family #2, LLCDirect ownership interestOrganization06/17/2020
Aderhold, MaryDirect ownership interestIndividual06/17/2020
Benoit, RichardDirect ownership interestIndividual06/17/2020
Cade, RobinDirect ownership interestIndividual06/17/2020
Caron, KarenDirect ownership interestIndividual06/17/2020
Deters, SherryDirect ownership interestIndividual06/17/2020
Deters-Smith, GretchenDirect ownership interestIndividual06/17/2020
Griffith, EdwardDirect ownership interestIndividual06/17/2020
Krueger, RossDirect ownership interestIndividual06/17/2020
Rothstein, MitchellDirect ownership interestIndividual06/17/2020
Sell, StevenDirect ownership interestIndividual06/17/2020
Stepp, ChristopherDirect ownership interestIndividual06/17/2020
Stepp, LawannaDirect ownership interestIndividual06/17/2020
Stepp, VoyneDirect ownership interestIndividual06/17/2020
Synovous Bank, National Association5% or greater mortgage interestOrganization11/16/2018
Active Care Managers LLCOperational/managerial controlOrganization02/01/2024
Moran-Burrell, IvonneOperational/managerial controlIndividual03/01/2024
Sell, StevenOperational/managerial controlIndividual02/01/2024
Active Care Managers LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization01/30/2025
Dowling, EvelenaAdp of the SNFIndividual12/20/2021
Hill, JeffreyAdp of the SNFIndividual06/17/2020
Kim, KeithAdp of the SNFIndividual06/17/2020
Moran-Burrell, IvonneAdp of the SNFIndividual03/01/2024
Sell, JerrieAdp of the SNFIndividual06/17/2020
Sell, StevenAdp of the SNFIndividual02/01/2024
Sharpe, MichaelAdp of the SNFIndividual06/17/2020
Wilson, JohnAdp of the SNFIndividual06/17/2020

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 4 problems in this area, most recently on April 25, 2024: "Provide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health."
  2. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on April 25, 2024: "Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights."
  3. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on April 25, 2024: "Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs."
  4. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on February 26, 2026: "Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards."

Other nursing homes nearby

Florida contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Florida. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is River City Nursing and Rehab Center's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates River City Nursing and Rehab Center 5 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, 3 for staffing and 5 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did River City Nursing and Rehab Center get at its last inspection?
2 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on February 26, 2026. The Florida average is 7.1.
Has River City Nursing and Rehab Center been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does River City Nursing and Rehab Center accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns River City Nursing and Rehab Center?
CMS lists 38 owners and managers. Legal business name: FIRST COAST HEALTH VENTURES, LLC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection